New Student Convocation

Friday, August 18, 2017 at 4:00 pm

Gallagher-Iba Arena

New Student Convocation is Oklahoma State University’s official welcome for all new students and marks the start of your academic journey. This formal celebration of scholarship and tradition inducts new students into the community of learners at Oklahoma State. Convocation celebrates OSU’s new students’ entry into higher education and articulates the institution’s mission, values, expectations, and purpose. This memorable experience will introduce OSU’s newest students to the special privileges and responsibilities they now bear as scholars and leaders.

As we affirm and enhance our sense of community at OSU, the tradition of Convocation is an experience that will be remembered for many years to come. Join Oklahoma State University as we highlight important themes, express our goals, sharpen our focus, and reaffirm the values we share. If you have any additional questions about the College Spotlights and Receptions or Convocation, please contact the Office of New Student Orientation and Enrollment at (405) 744-3636.

Convocation immediately follows the college spotlights and receptions held by each academic college. All students should attend the college spotlight and reception for the college in which they are enrolled for the fall or in which they are interested. At the conclusion of the college spotlights and receptions, students will accompany the faculty from the college spotlights and receptions to Convocation and be seated by college. 

Attire for all new students is business casual. Please ensure that your attire is suitable for the procession from your college spotlight and reception to Convocation, as there will not be a sufficient amount of time to change between events.

Convocation is open to the public and admission is free. Parents, families, and others are welcome to attend the Convocation ceremony. No ticket or RSVP is required.

Slideshow Title: 
New Student Convocation
Slideshow Subtitle: 
Friday, August 18, 2017 at 4:00 pm, Gallagher-Iba Arena
Slideshow Image: